by Hermjard
Isn't the fact, that the discarding because of the card text is optional, a hint, that it's subordinate to the rule of the hand max, which is mandatory?How can you be allowed to execute a part of the card text of one of your hand cards, during an illegal state of your hand?
This is IMO, the same like drawing the 11th tactics card, and reducing to 10 by playing one of the 11 cards.
While most of your anwers are extremely helpful and convincing, I am very unsure about this one. Would you mind to ask Corey about this one, too?