by Hermjard
I disagree; the Tactics Card thing would be like drawing 2 objective cards, and immediately trying to claim one instead of discarding it.
Claiming this objective card would be equal to execute the first part of the card text. Discarding it optionally because of too few cities is equal to executing the second part of the card instructions.
In both cases you follow card instructions, and not basic rules of the rules booklet. IMO you can only follow card instructions of cards, you have legally (i.e. consistent with the base rules) on your hand. If not, you have first to follow all base game rules, before you are allowed to follow the card instructions.
Look at the quest card "Trials of Zorek". Are you allowed to reveal the card on the table and do an influence bid, while you have four or more quest cards on your hand, only because it states, that you do that immediately, when you get this card? Surely not. First, you have to reduce to three 3 quest cards, then, if one of them is still "Trials of Zorek", you can follow its card text.