Quantcast
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 7108

Reply: Runewars:: Rules:: Re: Starting a battle where the units aren't in the opponents initiative number

by sigmazero13

icalvinist wrote:

Ghool wrote:

The sorcerer should go on the Neutral unit board, and not the player's board (hint: it's on the back of the Exploration token summary sheet).


The rules state that, "The defending player places the neutral units to the right of his faction sheet in the proper initiative rows and makes all decisions for them."

If you still flip fate cards, who do you damage if they're not in your initiative row?

The proper initiative row is shown on the Neutral cards. Sorcerers have initiative 1, for instance (as do Razorwings). Beastmen have Initiative 2, Hellhounds 3, Dragons 4, and Giants 5. The shape of the base doesn't matter for initiative.

When you deal damage to your opponent, it doesn't matter what initiative row is currently drawing cards - the player taking damage can assign the damage to their own units in any initiative (following certain rules, such as you must apply damage to an already-damaged unit first, if possible; this is to prevent "spreading out" damage).


In your example in the original post, the human player may be acting for the Sorcerer, but it's still neutral; the human player can't use any cards, and any human faction benefits would not affect the Sorcerer.


Basically, in this particular battle:

Initiative round 1: The human player draws 1 card for the Sorcerer, and applies it's results. (If it's an Orb, the Sorcerer has 2 health; if it's damage, the Undead player would apply the damage to one of the necromancers; if its a Rout, the Undead player would rout a necromancer).

Undead has no Round 1 guys in this fight, so he doesn't draw cards.


Round 2: The Undead player draws cards for the necromancers. If both necromancers are still alive and standing, he'll draw two cards. If one was killed/routed by the Sorcerer, only one will draw a card. The results are then applied. If Orbs are drawn, Reanimates will be added to the battle (put next to Round 4). Other results could rout, damage, or kill the Sorcerer, depending on what is drawn.

The human player draws no cards, as there are no neutrals in the battle with Initiative 2.


Round 3: No cards are drawn, as neither player has units in this row.


Round 4: If the Undead has reanimates in the battle (spawned from necromancers), cards are drawn and resolved for them. (Technically speaking, this is done even if the Sorcerer was killed, though if so the cards would have no effect).

No cards are drawn by the other player.


Round 5: No cards are drawn by either side.


I hope that makes sense :) I get the feeling there may be a misunderstanding of how battles work in general.

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 7108

Trending Articles



<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>