by sigmazero13
Here's the answer I got.ME
Awhile ago, you had made a ruling regarding the Latari Archer unit Crackshot ability stating that when it triggers, the Latari player can choose ANY opposing unit, regardless of damage or rout status, with the general ruling that the rule stating you must apply damage to a standing, damaged unit first only applies when you are applying damage to your own units.
In the old version of Word of Vaal (where the opponent chose which of his units retreated), you ruled that the chosen unit must be a standing undamaged unit if possible.
However, since Word of Vaal has changed so that the Latari player chooses, would the ruling similar to that made for Crackshot apply, allowing the Latari player to choose a damaged or routed opposing unit to retreat if desired? (I would say yes, so as to be consistent with Crackshot, but thought I'd get official confirmation rather than just assuming).
COREY
Yes, the Latari player may choose a damaged or routed unit using Word of Vaal.